Three 130km races confirmed for Supercars Sydney SuperSprint

Three 130km sprint races and a top 15 shootout headline Supercars return to racing at the Sydney Motorsport Park SuperSprint in three weeks’ time.

The official schedule and session times were released this morning.

The event at Sydney Motorsport Park will open on Saturday June 27 with a 20-minute rookie-only session, followed by two full-field practice sessions.

The entire field will then enter part one of ARMOR ALL Qualifying with the four slowest lap times from that session eliminated. The second qualifying session will feature the remaining 20 drivers.

The five slowest times from Q2 will be eliminated and the remaining drivers will contest a Top 15 Shootout.

Read Next | Supercars rule variations for Sydney SuperSprint

The winner of the ARMOR ALL Shootout will take pole for the opening race of the revised 2020 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship calendar, a 33-lap sprint on Saturday afternoon.

Sunday’s schedule will begin with back to back qualifying sessions, each to determine the respective starting grids for Sunday’s two races.

Supercars Sydney SuperSprint

All three races will be held on the 3.93km Gardner (Grand Prix) circuit consisting of 33-laps or a time certain finish.

Drivers will arrive in Sydney on Friday 26 June to conduct team track walks, which will be carried out in line with COVID government regulations.

There will be almost 12 hours of practice, qualifying and racing broadcast exclusively live and ad free on Fox Sports 506 across the two-day event.

The Sydney MotorSport Park SuperSprint will feature seven-time Champion Jamie Whincup’s long-awaited 500th career Supercars race.

Western Sydney product James Courtney will return to SMSP with a new team and in a Mustang, after joining Tickford after just one round with Team Sydney earlier this year.

Whincup’s Red Bull Holden Racing teammate Shane van Gisbergen won the most recent race at SMP, under lights in 2018.

Shell V-Power’s two-time defending Supercars Champion Scott McLaughlin holds a 27-point lead over Whincup in the Championship standings heading into the Sydney MotorSport Park SuperSprint.

Sydney MotorSport Park SuperSprint Schedule:
(All times AEST)


  • Rookie Practice: 10:20am – 10:40am
  • Practice 1: 11:00am – 11:30am
  • Practice 2: 12:00pm – 12:30pm
  • ARMOR ALL Qualifying Race 7 (two-part): 1:15pm – 1:40pm
  • ARMOR ALL Top 15 Shootout: 1:50pm – 2:30pm
  • Race 7: 3:30pm – 4:30pm (33-laps)


  • ARMOR ALL Qualifying Race 8: 10:35am – 10:50am
  • ARMOR ALL Qualifying Race 9: 10:55am – 11:10am
  • Race 8: 12:15pm – 1:25pm (33-laps)
  • Race 9: 2:35pm – 3:35pm (33-laps)


  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Request a fitting
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Log In